Canoe Sprint


Tasmania Paddling Clinic
Canoe Tasmania and Surf Life Saving Tasmania are hosting a Paddling Clinic at Lake Barrington, October 18-19.

Canoe Sprint

Canoe Sprint Racing is one of the best-known competitive canoeing disciplines in Australia. This is probably due to its inclusion in the Olympic Games since 1936 and Australia's involvement in All Olympics from the 1956 Melbourne Olympic Games.  Canoe Sprint Racing is all about speed on flat water over distances of 200 metres, 500 metres and 1000 metres.  The craft that have developed are sleek and fast but unstable.

Canoe Sprint kayakers use specially designed paddles allowing for extra power and efficiency.  K1, K2 and K4 are the most popular classes of Canoe Sprint kayaking but there are also canoe classes, C1, C2 and C4.  At the Olympics both men and women compete in kayaks, but only men compete in canoes. Women are only allowed to compete in canoes up to World Championship level.

In Canoe Sprint Racing, events are contested over three distances 200 metres, 500 metres and 1000 metres.  However, not every event is contested all distances at the Olympis. At the Olympics the men's K1 & C1 classes are contested over 200 and 1000 metres. The men's K4 is contested over 1000 metres. The women's K1 & K2 are contested over 200 and 500 metres and the women's K4 is contested over 500 metres.

At the annual World Championships and Australian Championships, unlike at the Olympic Games, Men's and Women's K1, K2 and K4 are raced over all three distances. The Men's C1, C2 and C4 events are also run over all distances; 200 metres, 500 metres and 1000 metres.

Australia has a high world ranking in Canoe Sprint Racing and is usually in the top 5 nations at a World Championships or Olympic Games.  Australia's international success has produced a number of World and Olympic Champions.  Clint Robinson was Australia's first Olympic gold medalist in Canoe Sprint Racing in 1992. Robinson won the K1 1000m final in Barcelona.  Clint came close to defending that gold in Atlanta in 1996 but came away with the bronze. Two other bronze medals made 1996 Australia's best Olympic Games results ever for Canoe Sprint Racing.

John Sumegi won a silver Olympic medal in Moscow 1980 in the K1M 500m event. Dennis Green & Walter Brown also won the 1000m K2 Olympic Bronze at the 1956 Melbourne Olympics.

Martin Hunter became Australia's first ever Word Championship gold medallist in 1989, when he won the K1M 500m event. Among Australia's World Champions from Canoe Sprint Racing are Daniel Collins and Andrew Trim Anna Wood and Katrin Borchert.  Both of these pairs won World Championships in the K2 events in 1997 and 1998.  Trim & Collins won the K2 500m in 1997, whilst Wood and Borchert claimed double gold (the WK2 500m and WK2 1000m) in 1998.

Clint Robinson and Nathan Baggaley are Australia's other World Champions claiming the gold medal in the K1 1000m in 1994 and K1 500m in 2002 and 2003 respectively.  Australia has won many other medals at the international level.

At the Athens Olympic Games, Australia's Men's Kayak Team came away ranked third in the world.  Nathan Baggaley bagged 2 silver medals in the K1 500m paired with Clint Robinson for the K2 500m and also came fourth in the K1 1000m.  Daniel Collins paired with new partner David Rhodes to take fourth in the K2 1000m.
At the Beijing Olympic Games, Australia came away with three medals. Ken Wallace won Gold and Bronze in the Men's K1 500m and the K1 1000m. Lisa Oldenhof, Hannah Davis, Chantal Meek and Lyndsie Fogarty won Bronze in the Women's K4 500m.
At the London Olympics in 2012 Australia won the K4 1000m event, the crew was Murray Stewart, Tate Smith, David Smith and Jacob Clear.
Australian Team Selection Information
Regatta Entry
Competition Rules
National Technical Committee, Canoe Sprint